Introduction:

This section features information on training programmes and posts offered.

BSG/BASL Position Statement on Hepatology Training 

This statement has been produced in response to the rapid increase in the burden of liver disease in the UK and the need to ensure training in liver medicine delivers a clinical workforce able to meet current and future demand. Liver disease is now the commonest cause of premature death in men in the UK, and has resulted in a major rise in out- and in-patient episodes for patients with chronic liver disease which is having a significant impact on service and training needs.

Download BASL-BSG Training Statement 2019.pdf

Advanced Hepatology Training posts - 2021 entry

These ATPs are approved for advanced training in Hepatology, including experience in a transplant unit, with a view to subspecialty accreditation providing other requirements are met. They are not just for aspiring transplant hepatologists – equally valid for DGH Hepatology but some posts will be better suited (eg 9m/3m). The recruitment window will open 5th November via Oriel for 4 weeks with a view to remote interviewing on 15th January 2021 with interviewers from the host centres. Posts will commence in line with the national rotation date for Gastroenterology with changeover dates on the first Monday of the month. Of note academic trainees ie those holding an NTN(A), typically in a CL post, do not require a separate ATP year but must ensure 3 m in a transplant centre.

The posts are aimed primarily at trainees who will be entering ST6 although entry at ST5 or ST7 is also permissible (ST7 if outstanding competencies cleared). Trainees need to complete the 12 months in order for the post to count towards accreditation. If a trainee exits a post early due to unforeseen circumstances (eg pregnancy, but not research) the trainee can be re-accommodated in the post the following year. Trainees should not apply if their CCT date will not allow post completion – further advice should be sought from the parent TPD/LETB. Regarding LTFT, at 60% a trainee will have to do the post twice (and will be re-accommodated automatically). At 80% a trainee will be deemed to have completed the post after 12m but accreditation will require 24 m total hepatology training (not more than 6 m in level 1 centre). If a successful candidate leaves their parent LETB an OOPT form may be required for LETB admin purposes.

Trainees are encouraged to contact individual host centres if require specific information though we will endeavour to place as much as possible via the application portal. Of note there is usually only a short window between offer and acceptance (48 hours).

Hepatology ATPs available for 2021 (15 posts in total):

Lead Centre Transplant Unit

Duration of training
in 
transplant
unit (m)

Contact Email
Edinburgh Edinburgh 12 Carol Blair Carol.blair@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk 

Birmingham

Birmingham 12 Fiona Thompson fiona.thompson@uhb.nhs.uk 
Liverpool Birmingham 3 Imran Patanwala Imran.patanwala@rlbuht.nhs.uk 
Cambridge Cambridge 12 Bill Griffiths bill.griffiths@addenbrookes.nhs.uk
Nottingham Cambridge 6 Emilie Wilkes Emilie.wilkes@nuh.nhs.uk 
Southampton Cambridge 3 Kate Nash kathryn.nash@uhs.nhs.uk 
Oxford Cambridge 3

Jane Collier

jane.collier1@nhs.net 

Sheffield (x2 posts)  Leeds 6 Barbara Hoeroldt /
Rebecca Jones (Leeds)
Barbara.hoeroldt@sth.nhs.uk rebecca.jones@leedsth.nhs.uk 
Newcastle Newcastle 12

Steve Masson

steve.masson@nuth.nhs.uk 
Plymouth (x2 posts) King's 6

Aileen Smith

aileensmith4@nhs.net 
Royal Free (London) Royal Free 6 Raj Mookerjee r.mookerjee@ucl.ac.uk  
Royal London Royal Free  6 Vikram Sharma vikram.sharma@bartshealth.nhs.uk 
St Mary's (London) King's 6 Heather Lewis heather.lewis4@nhs.net 

Join Basl - BASL Membership covers membership to BASL and all of it's sub-groups: BLNA, BVHG, BLTG, BHPG and HCC-UK. Click here to find out more. BASL Events - BASL and the BASL Sub Groups run an exciting and varied calendar of educational events throughout the year, as well as endorsing other not to miss events. Click here to Book Now.