Introduction:

This section features information on training programmes and posts offered.

BSG/BASL Position Statement on Hepatology Training 

This statement has been produced in response to the rapid increase in the burden of liver disease in the UK and the need to ensure training in liver medicine delivers a clinical workforce able to meet current and future demand. Liver disease is now the commonest cause of premature death in men in the UK, and has resulted in a major rise in out- and in-patient episodes for patients with chronic liver disease which is having a significant impact on service and training needs.

Download BASL-BSG Training Statement 2019.pdf

Advanced Hepatology Training posts - 2023

The ATPs below are approved for advanced training in Hepatology, including experience in a transplant unit, with a view to subspecialty accreditation providing other requirements are met. Some posts will be more suited to future DGH hepatologists. ATPs are not mandatory for academic/NTN(A) trainees. The recruitment window will open via Oriel in November 2022 for approx. 4 weeks, with a view to interviewing for short-listed applicants in January 2023. Interviewers will comprise Hepatology Leads from the host centres. Posts will commence on the first Monday of the respective month.

Trainees can enter the posts from ST5 or ST6. If a trainee exits a post early due to unforeseen circumstances (eg pregnancy, but not research) the trainee will be re-accommodated the following year. Trainees should not apply if their CCT date is before August 2024. Re LTFT, at 60% a trainee will have to do the post twice (and will be re-accommodated automatically). At 80% a trainee will be deemed to have completed the post after 12 m but will still require 24 m WTE hepatology training overall (not more than 6 m in level 1 centre). Trainees are encouraged to contact individual host centres if require specific information ahead of application/interviews. Of note there is only a short window between offer and acceptance.

Hepatology ATPs available for 2023:

Lead Centre Transplant Unit

Duration of training
in 
transplant
unit (m)

Lead Centre Contact Email

Birmingham

Birmingham 12 Fiona Thompson fiona.thompson@uhb.nhs.uk 
Bristol (x2 posts) Royal Free 6 Fiona Gordon (Bristol)
Louise China (Royal Free)
Fiona.Gordon@uhbw.nhs.uk 
l.china@nhs.net  
Cambridge Cambridge 12 Bill Griffiths bill.griffiths@addenbrookes.nhs.uk 
Cardiff Royal Free 3 Brijesh Srivastava Brijesh.srivastava@wales.nhs.uk 
Edinburgh (x2 posts)* Edinburgh 12 Carol Blair Carol.blair@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk 
Leeds Leeds 12

Joanna Moore

Joanna.moore@nhs.net 
Liverpool (x2 posts) Birmingham 6

Ed Britton (Liverpool)
Fiona Thompson (Birm’ham)

Edward.britton@liverpoolft.nhs.uk
Fiona.thompson@uhb.nhs.uk
Manchester Leeds 3 Imran Patanwala Imran.patanwala@mft.nhs.uk 
Newcastle Newcastle 12 Steven Masson Steven.masson@nhs.net 
Nottingham Cambridge 6 Peter Eddowes Peter.eddowes2@nuh.nhs.uk 
Oxford Cambridge 3 Jane Collier jane.collier1@nhs.net 
Plymouth (x2 posts) King's 6 Aileen Smith (Plymouth)
Debbie Shawcross (King's)
aileensmith4@nhs.net
Debbie.shawcross@kcl.ac.uk

Royal London (x 2 posts) Royal Free 6 Vikram Sharma (Royal London)
Louise China (Royal Free)
vikram.sharma@bartshealth.nhs.uk 
l.china@nhs.net   
Sheffield (x2 posts)  Leeds 6 Barbara Hoeroldt (Sheffield)
Joanna Moore (Leeds)
Barbara.hoeroldt@sth.nhs.uk
Joanna.moore@nhs.net
St Mary's (x 2 posts) King's 6 Heather Lewis (St Mary's)
Debbie Shawcross (King's)
heather.lewis4@nhs.net
 Debbie.shawcross@kcl.ac.uk 
 *exact details of Scottish posts TBC        

Join Basl - BASL Membership covers membership to BASL and all of it's sub-groups: BLNA, BVHG, BLTG, BHPG and HCC-UK. Click here to find out more. BASL Events - BASL and the BASL Sub Groups run an exciting and varied calendar of educational events throughout the year, as well as endorsing other not to miss events. Click here to Book Now.